Mississippi Elks State Association


State Chairman: Paul Auge
8709 Mermaid Ave.
Ocean Springs, MS
Home: 228-217-1177
Email: pjauge@cableone.net

2006 Scholarship Applications
Most Valuable Student
Legacy Scholarships

The Elks National Foundation provides more than $2.2 million in college scholarships each year to graduating high school seniors. The "Most Valuable Student scholarships are open to any graduating high school senior. Legacy Awards and Emergency Educational Fund Grants are available only to children of Elks. The application process and deadlines vary for each of the programs. All applications, except for the scouting scholarships, must go through a local Elks Lodge before reaching the Elks National Foundation office. Contact your high school counselor for more information or your local Elks Lodge.

Elks Most Valuable Student Contest:

Applications for the Elks National Foundation's 2007 Most Valuable Student contest are available at your local Elks Lodge, online or by sending a self-addressed, stamped envelope to the Foundation. Applications for the 2007 contest have to be submitted to your local Elks Lodge by January 12, 2007. Winners of the 2006 contest will be announced 15 May 2007. The Elks National Foundation will award 500 four-year scholarships to the highest-rated boys and girls in the 2006 competition. Any high school senior who is a citizen of the United States is eligible to apply. Applicants need not be related to a member of the Elks. College students are not eligible to apply. Applicants must be citizens of the United States on the date their applications are signed; resident alien status does not qualify.

Applicants will be judged on financial need, leadership and scholarship.

All scholarships are in the form of certificates of award conditional upon the enrollment of the winner in an accredited US college or university.

Applications must advance through local, district and state competition to reach the national competition. The Chicago office of the Elks National Foundation will announce the 500 national winners, and notify them in writing around 15 May 2006.

ELKS LEGACY SCHOLARSHIPS - For Children and Grandchildren of Acitve Elks:

The State of Mississippi is allocated 5 ($1,000 each) Legacy Scholorships per year. Any high school senior who is the child or grandchild (or step-child, step-grandchild, or legal ward) of an Elk who has been a member in good standing for at least two years is eligible to apply.

Emergency Education Fund Grants:

One-year educational grants available to children of deceased or totally incapacitated Elks.

Eagle Scout Awards:

Four scholarships of $8,000 ($2,000 per year) and four scholarships of $4,000 ($1,000 per year) are given annually. These scholarships are awarded by the NESA selection committee and forwarded to the Elks National Foundation. Funds are distributed through the Elks National Foundation based on its own criteria. The scholarship is limited to use at a four-year college/university that is accredited by recognized accreditation agencies and offers at least a bachelor's degree upon completion of the course of study offered.

Application forms are available starting in October in the Scout Council Service Center or online at the Eagle Scout Scholarships website. www.scouting.org/nesa/scholar

Girl Scout Gold Awards:

ENF annually awards eight scholarships to Gold Award winners selected by the Girl Scouts of the United States of America. One girl from each Girl Scout Service Area will receive a $6,000 scholarship ($1,500 per year).

Each Girl Scout Council sets its own filing deadline.

The contest kicks off in late January each year. For information and applications, Gold Award winners should contact their Girl Scout council in late January or visit the new Girl Scout Central section of the Girl Scout site: http://www.girlscouts.org/program/gs_central/scholarships/


More infomation about Elks Scholarships can be obtained from the Grand Lodge Web Site: Elks Scholarships.

2005 Most Valuable Student Scholarship
Rosemary Call Gulfport #978 $1,000/year 4 years
William Popwell Gulfport #978 $1,000/year 4 years
Meagan Davis Pascagoula #1120 $1,000 1 years
Hillary Freeman Greenwood #854 $1,000 1 years
Shelia Humphrey Ocean Springs #2501 $1,000 1 years
Amber Triplett Hattiesburg #599 $1,000 1 years
Brittny Lowery Hattiesburg #599 $1,000 1 years
Christa Anderson Ocean Springs #2501 $1,000 1 years
Randi Patterson Biloxi #606 $1,000 1 years
Jaime Weaver Biloxi #606 $1,000 1 years
2005 Legacy Scholarship
Joseph Beard Vicksburg #95 $1,000 1 Year
Lauren Farrar Hattiesburg #599 $1,000 1 Year
Katerine Pouriraji Biloxi #606 $1,000 1 Year

2004 Most Valuable Student Scholarship
Tom Feng Hattiesburg #599 $10,000/year 4 years
Mary Fondren Greenwood #854 $1,000 4 year
Candace Mixon   $1,000 1 years
Shadrack White   $1,000 1 years
Rebekah Staples   $1,000 1 years
Michael Bridges   $1,000 1 years
Jaimee Jones   $1,000 1 years
Ryan Johnson   $1,000 1 years
Skyler Jones   $1,000 1 years
Kimberly Cote   $1,000 1 years
2004 Legacy Scholarship
Alexandra Dubaz Biloxi #606 $1,000 1 Year
Justin Lovorn Pascagoula #1120 $1,000 1 Year
Lauryl Mallett Pascagoula #1120 $1,000 1 Year

2003 Most Valuable Student Scholarship
Alexander W. McIntosh Vicksburg #95 $1,000/year 4 years
Kristina Moore Biloxi #606 $1,000/year 4 years
Joel Blair   $1,000 1 years
Brent McCardy   $1,000 1 years
Bruce Ebersol   $1,000 1 years
Tyler Skelton   $1,000 1 years
Joseph Ingram   $1,000 1 years
Miriam Gattis   $1,000 1 years
Annice Jackson   $1,000 1 years
Rachael Mueler   $1,000 1 years
2003 Legacy Scholarship
Stephanie Evans Vicksburg #95 $1,000 1 Year
Jamie Olsen Pascagoula #1120 $1,000 1 Year
Michael Potee Pacagoula #1120 $1,000 1 Year
Anna Robertson Canton #458 $1,000 1 Year